New Visa Rules Every Indian Passport Holder Must Know!

If you have an Indian Passport and travel abroad frequently, chances are that you’ve had to go through the, troublesome but compulsory, visa process for more than once.

As of 2018, 59 countries offer visa on arrival or visa-free travel to Indian passport holders. But that is hardly any consolation, given that most countries in Europe and North/South America still require you to get that visa stamped on your passport.

However, in what comes as slight relief, visa rules have been relaxed for some major countries where many Indians often like to travel to or live.

There is a new set of visa rules in place and if you hold an Indian passport, this might ease your travel a bit.

Let’s Take A Look At The New Rules:


Japan is one of those Asian countries whose visa rules for Indians used to be at par with probably the US or European countries.

But Japan has now relatively eased travel to the country for holders of Indian passport.

Travellers who want to visit ‘The Land Of The Rising Sun’ for a short while or are applying for a multiple-entry visa, you don’t need to show an employment certificate or explanation letter stating the reason for your visit.

You need your visa application form along with a valid/recent photograph and proof of your financial stability if you are travelling for tourism.

If your trip to Japan is business-related, you need documents to prove your affiliation to the enterprise.


You do not need to apply for an airport transit visa if you’re travelling through any of the international airports in France.

What this means is that if you have a connecting flight from India to somewhere via an airport in France, you do not need to apply separately for a French visa.


If you are travelling to Oman, you can now get a month-long tourist visa on arrival in the country for an amount of 20 Omani Riyal (Rs 3,700).

However, this rule holds only if you reside or hold an entry visa to the US, Canada, Australia, UK, Japan or Schengen states.

Your spouse and children accompanying you can also get a visa on arrival.

4.United Arab Emirates (UAE)

If you are a specialist in medicine, science and research, or even an exceptional student or investor, the UAE will grant you a 10-year-long work visa if you want to visit the country.

UAE wants to encourage highly skilled professionals and potential investors to visit them so that they can boost their economy.

Travellers will also be allowed to fly between India and the rest of the world through Dubai and Abu Dhabi on a free transit visa valid for 48 hours. This validity can be extended up to 96 hours by paying a small fee.

Another ruling is, that between July 15th and September 15th every year, dependents under the age of 18 can get free visas.


You can now drive into Myanmar without any hassle, as Indian travellers don’t need a special land route permit to enter into the country.

You can apply for an e-visa prior to your departure and present it at the check-post, which you will receive, in less than 24 hours and is valid for 28 days after your entry.


Travelling to a country on Kazakhstan‘s national carrier Air Astana or any other Kazakh airline?

You can get a 72-hour transit visa for Kazakhstan, that too for free. If you plan to stay in Astana or Almaty, book your hotel in advance and make sure to inform the airline before departure.

They have also started issuing 30-day e-visas to Indian travellers.

7.Saudi Arabia

Saudi Arabia will issue tourist visas to women aged 25 and above, even if they visit the country without being accompanied by a man.

This is thanks to Crown Prince Mohammad Bin Salman, who wants a ‘moderate, open Islam’ system in his country.

This is the first time Saudi Arabia has relaxed visa rules on this front.

Other New Visa Rules You Should Know About:
  • Israel has now cut down its visa fee for Indian passport holders from Rs 1,700 to Rs 1,100. You need to apply for a visa in the B2 visa (business, tourism or meeting or conference) category in order to avail the new price.
  • Travelling to Uzbekistan from India is also easier now. Submit your e-visa application three days before your trip. You can get a single-entry e-visa for a 30-day period.
  • Indian passport holders can now get a visa on arrival in Zimbabwe. India is among the 28 countries that Zimbabwe has relaxed visa rules for.

*The next time you’re travelling abroad, Download the AirWhizz App! Upload your flight details within the app itself and get Flight Information, Airport & Airline Information, Purchase Travel Insurance And Much More!

It is the only App you need when you Fly!

Spread the love

Facebook Comments

Comments are closed, but <a href="" title="Trackback URL for this post">trackbacks</a> and pingbacks are open.